Friday, December 12, 2008

Reaction to "the Black Knight" and how it has to do with Antigone


Today in Class we watched part of "The Black Knight" where the Convicts and the normal citizens had to make a choice between blowing up each other's boat, or all dying themselves.  This has to tie in with Antigone because Antigone is faced with a morality challenge, she can choose between burying her brother or letting him rot away. In the movie The joker said "You have a choice, to blow up the other ship, or at midnight, you all die." because he believed that everyone was coldhearted, just like him. The citizens in the boat wanted to vote if they should explode the other ship or let it be. one citizen said (about the convicts)  "They had their shots, and they didn't do anything!" the vote was 390 for exploding the other boat to 160 against exploding the other ship. the two people who were going to blow up the ship ended up not blowing up anything the head convict took the other ship's explosive, and threw it out the window, the citizen just put the convict's explosive, back in the box, at midnight the Joker said "I wouldn't want to miss the fireworks"  while he had Batman pinned down under a steel beam on top of the Empire State Building, and Batman said  "There aren't gonna be any fireworks."  he was right, and at 12:05 the joker was ready to explode both his ship's on his own.  that's where we stopped. Now back to Antigone, She's  ready to suffer the consequences of  burying her brother, and in the movie, the citizens, and convicts were both ready to suffer their consequences. 

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Morality decision


Decision 1: you have the opportunity to cheat on a test and not get caught, Do You? 
This decision is easy. Even if I did have the opportunity to cheat on a test and not get caught I wouldn't do that. I was raised with good morals, and If I cheated on a test and I wasn't caught, I'd feel so guilty, and I couldn't ever imagine doing something like that. 
Decision 2: your best friend is dating someone who you cannot stand, and who you feel is totally wrong for your friend . Do you say anything about your feelings to your friend?  Well, that depends on how good a friend your friend is. If it's like your best friend then I'd probably say something. but if it was an acquantice, I'd let it be. but I feel best about saying that it's their decision, it's in their hands. besides, it could ruin the relationship between your friend and their date. Decision 3: you're a parent, you catch underage students bringing alcohol to a party where no one has a car. Do you let them go, or do you report them?  Um, let me think about that...It's a split. I don't wanna be like the "Evil Parent" but i'd report them.  It's not safe, and I really don't think it's a good idea to let them go because that means there'll be no advisory in anything. Decision 4: your parents refuse to let you go with your friends on a weekend trip. Do you sneak out and go anyway, knowing you'll get seriously grounded when you return? No, I wouldn't sneak out and go because it's stupid, and rebellious, I mean I know some people who would sneak out, but that's not me. I was raised to respect my parents, and their beliefs.  If my parents said no, then the answer is no. They know what's best for me, and I respect those things, so I would never go.  Decision 5: you are a landlord. A family living in one of your apartments can't pay the month's rent. Do you cut them a break, or kick them out?  Wow, this requires some thought...I feel the best about cutting them a break. Unless, it's a habit, and it's been months since they paid me my rent, then I'd kick them out. I'd honestly feel best about letting them stay.   Decision 6: A friend of yours has gotten a reputation (deservedly) of being a real trouble maker. being associated with him might get you unwanted negative attention. Do you hang out with your friend anyhow? No! I don't want any unwanted negative attention thank you. I have enough good friends, and I really never hang out with bad friends. So the answer is no. I'd drop that friend.  Decision 7: At college close to eighty percent of the students are members of fraternities. During pledge week you visit each, but don't find any that seem a perfect fit. do you join one anyway, or remain independent? I'll answer a  part of this with a song lyric 
"Miss independent
Miss self sufficient
Miss keep your distance mmmmm
Miss unafraid
Miss out my way" (Kelly Clarkson Miss Independent)  Yeah, I'll go with being independent. I want nothing to do with fraternities, and I think their superficial and a desperate cry for wanting to fit in. I've always gone against the grain, and I hope to remain doing so, sure, I may not have many friends in College (or life for that matter) but I know that's best for me. Decision 8: An uncle of yours has become an alcoholic. His behavior in public is embarrassing at best, and dangerous at worst. Do you invite him to the Thanksgiving get-together?  No, I wouldn't invite him to the get together. Okay, I love him but I really don't want him there. Besides, I don't hafta worry about any of that cuz no one in my family are alcoholics. Sure, they have drinks, but not in excess. Decision 9: The new school dress code is really over the top. Do you break the rules on purpose and get punished in order to publicly protest to get the rule changed? I wanna PROTEST!!! I would break that rule cuz I'm in a public school 4 crying out loud! I WOULD NEVER WEAR A UNIFORM FOR ANYTHING EXCEPT A STUPID CATHOLIC SCHOOL! Our clothing choices define us!  if we were to bench our uniqueness I'd drop out of school. Decision 10: you're a teacher, a well meaning and hard working student is about to fail out of school. Do you go easy on the student and give the good grades so they don't fail? No. I hate to say it, but no! If I gave the student free A's or B's then that adds to the sugar coated life we already have. It's like when you were little, and you played little league, you always got a trophy whether you won or not. That's not a reality, that's a lie. lying is really bad. I wouldn't give any student an easy A. That's just not a good plan. In reality you're not always gonna win all the time. So I wouldn't go easy on anyone. 

Monday, December 1, 2008

Reaction to the end of 1984


I thought the end of the novel was bad.  I Didn't like it at all because it wasn't he best ending. Actually, It was a horrible In the end, Winston became what he didn't want to become, he became a strong follower and believer of Big Brother, so did Julia.  It wasn't to good, I mean, yeah it was good, but not good good. I honestly hope I take what's important from the book, and dispose of the rest of it.